British Columbia Secondary Schools Rugby Union

Welcome to the 2015-2016 edition of the British Columbia Secondary Schools Rugby Union website.  Our organization is committed to promoting the game of rugby as well as improving the standard of play within its member schools throughout the province.  It is dedicated to fostering sportsmanship and fair play among its athletes.  It also assists in the organization of league competition, tournaments and tours as well as other related activities and programs.  I hope that you will find this website both informative and useful.

Walter van Halst



Notice of BCSSRU Annual General Meeting

To Senior Rugby Coaches:

Please accept this communication as formal notice of the BCSSRU Annual General Meeting which will be held at the Abbotsford Rugby Club, 31929 Mercantile Way, Abbotsford BC at 6:00 pm on Saturday, May 21, 2016.

An agenda, together with the Minutes of the 2014 Annual General Meeting, will be posted on our website.  If you have any items you wish to bring forward for discussion, please e-mail them to  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it no later than Wednesday, May 18, 2016.


Walter van Halst - Commissioner
Stephen Rowell - President


BCSSRU Scholarships 2015

Since its inception in 1994, the BCSSRU Scholarship program has recognized over two hundred and thirty graduating students proceeding to a full-time program of studies at an accredited Canadian university or college.  Successful candidates have demonstrated excellence in rugby, strong scholastic achievement and have been leaders within their school and/or community.

For the 2014-2015 academic year, up to ten scholarships will be available.  Click on the scholarships page for more detailed information and an on-line application form.  If you have any specific questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Chair of the BCSSRU Scholarship Committee at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


Whistle Talk – News from the BCRRS

From time to time the BC Rugby Referees’ Society will publish a newsletter featuring discussion on the Laws of the Game, and the impact they have on the way the game is played in British Columbia.  As the IRB clarifies the Laws with its policies and rulings, it is hoped that this newsletter will do the same for officials, coaches, players and fans.  For a copy of the current laws, go to http://www.irblaws.com/EN/downloads