About Us





Zone Contacts


Junior Boys Provincial Championship
icon twitter

bcssru 2019 top


Junior Boys Provincial Results - 2016

Semi Finals
FINAL   Semi Finals
Carson Graham
17   Shawnigan Lake
South Delta 15   Oak Bay

Commisioner's XV

Reese Tudor-Jones - Shawnigan Lake

Luke Woolridge - Carson Graham

Michael Calvert - South Delta 

Lachlan Kratz - Oak Bay

Championship Final FINAL  
Shawnigan Lake 29  
Carson Graham

Junior Provincial Final Game Summary

Jr. Boys Provincial Rugby Championship: Shawnigan Lake captures historic first ever BC crown

On Friday, May 27th, the Shawnigan Lake School Colts squared off against the Carson Graham Eagles from North Vancouver in the first ever Jr. Boys Rugby Provincial Championship match in Abbotsford's Rotary Stadium. Like any title fight, the two opponents appeared to size each other up and spar in the opening minutes of the contest, carefully probing for attacking opportunities.

Both sides landed blows early, and the score remained 5 to 3 for Shawnigan Lake almost until the half-time interval, when the Colts managed to overcome the more physically powerful Eagles by moving the ball out wide and into space to secure a more comfortable lead of 12 to 3 with a converted try just before the half-time hooter.

Early in the second half, however, Shawnigan's momentum proved to be too much for Ryan Kerluck's Carson Graham sqaud, which appeared to tire as the game wore on after defeating a powerful South Delta side on only Tuesday at Klahanie Park. Indeed, the Colts became completely dominant as the contest wore on, with James Macdonald, Kyle McCallum and Reece Tudor-Jones all being threats to score with the ball in hand. Two tries were scored by Macdonald, one by Tudor-Jones, with two additional Shawnigan trys also scored by Jack Shaw and Nolan Young. A pair of conversions then rounded out the Colts 29 points. Carson Graham's lone 3 points came on a first half penalty goal.

Strong performances for the Colts were turned in by Fernando Gutierrez, Nolan Young and Moaman Elhendawi. Reece Tudor-Jones, who managed to not only score but make punishing tackles while playing with broken fingers the entire contest, gave a gutsy and heroic effort. The Stags' captain and double-try scorer, James Macdonald, was superb in all facets of the game.

Ultimately, however, both teams can take pride in taking part in this year's historic first ever Jr. Boys Provincial Championship Final, and Ander Monro's championship team from Shawnigan Lake School set a bar of sound defensive play and attacking flair for all teams taking part in next year's expanded 8 team Jr. Boys Provincial Championships to measure up to.